Transformers

Maybe I should limit my blog posts to movies I pay to see.

Transformers T-Shirt

Transformers made my day ever so sweeter. I was told it was a nerd movie, where the nerdy guy gets the hot girl. I can appreciate such a storyline as it parallels my own romance with my boyfriend. Also, I experienced some faint nostalgia from the vague memories of transformers from my childhood.

Only a few minutes into this movie I was already giddy with glee. I felt bad because despite my heart has been opened to the plight of American troops overseas, it was really cool when the evil helicopter robot transformed and blew up the air force base with blue shockwaves and missiles. The special effects in this movie made you wonder, “Has Jim Hensen gotten into robots?” because these huge digitally generated ‘auto-bots’ interacted so well with their surroundings it was practically seamless.

But what made this movie more than just some action/adventure flick? Three things:

1) The humour. There was some great writing, and really great characters (my favourite was the nerd-hero’s mom).

2) The romance & the action/adventure. By the time the nerd gets the girl, she’s not as shallow as she seems to be and he proves himself noble and true. The chase scenes were also pretty stellar, with lots of adrenaline-rush-inducing human-versus-machines battles.

3) The prude in me appreciated that this movie kept the violence, sex and swearing at a minimum. I suppose it is because children are a huge market and Transformers loves to market itself to kids. I think this movie was PG-13. It’s a teen boy movie, but I loved it.

Good clean fun and I look forward to owning it and watching it again with my boyfriend.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Transformers

  1. Nice write up. I’ve been there twice, once when it was just thrown open and the crowds were sparse, and recently to watch a movie when it was too crow Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

Leave a comment